by De-Franco

supported by
  • Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Comes with a nine page digital booklet.

     $9.99 AUD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD)

    Comes in a clear jewel case with a six page booklet – photography by Sylvia Zirkelbach and artwork/design by Slick.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Solastalgia via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days

     $12.99 AUD or more




Melodic, evocative, sumptuous electronica... this perfectly describes De-Franco’s debut album Solastalgia.

Immersed in a captivating blend of acoustic and electro instrumentation, De-Franco fuses primal elements of progressive, minimal and tech house to create a boldly haunting sound. Add to this some cherry-picked smatterings of ambient, glitch, pop and jazz and the result is a rich, luscious brew that invokes deep sensations of loss, decimation, and ultimately the possibility (however faint) of hope and atonement.

De-Franco explains: “The album title came about from reading a New York Times article about Professor Glenn Albrecht and a philosophical term he’d coined, Solastalgia, in response to mining activities in the Hunter Valley in Australia. And whilst not an environmental album per se, I certainly wanted to explore a range of emotions in relation to aspects of that pain he described, that loss, that feeling of helplessness.”

Composed, performed and produced by the man himself, Solastalgia has been crafted with focussed love. Soul soothing one moment, bent out of shape the next, each piece is intelligent, deliberate and introspective.

From the opening track Solastalgia, through such titles as Anthem For No One, Conquistador (featuring Mexican classical guitarist Daniel Medina), The Tipping Point and Elemental Lullaby, emotions are delicately examined through sophisticated choices in instrumentation, melody and beats. The only composition flirting with convention, Sunlight Song, features an ethereal, plaintive vocal from Australian singer Rel O’Keefe, imploring us to reach for the light from the dark of despair. The lyrics with their oblique allusion to Hiroshima delivers chills.

De-Franco cites electronic heroes including Ennio Morricone, Massive Attack, Air, Jean Michel Jarre, Trentemøller, Pink Floyd, Vangelis and Yann Tierson to name a few. “I’ve always been attracted to tunes with great melodies – instrumental or vocal, electronica, rock, pop – it doesn’t matter. If the melody stirs me, then I’m in.”

So close the doors, shut off the lights, turn up the volume and embark on your own, personal journey through the intoxicating and heady sensory experience that is Solastalgia.


released December 19, 2014

All tracks written by Denis Franchetto except Sunlight Song written by Denis Franchetto and Rel O’Keefe.

Guitars, keyboards, programming – De-Franco

Vocals on Sunlight Song and other vocal samples – Rel O’Keefe

Acoustic guitar on Conquistador – Daniel Medina

Cello on Underside and Elemental Lullaby – Rory Dungan

Spoken word on The Tipping Point – Professor Glen Albrecht

Produced, recorded and mixed by De-Franco. Additional recording by Scott Mullane. Mastered by Matthew Gray. Photography by Sylvia Zirkelbach. Artwork by Slick.



all rights reserved


feeds for this album, this artist


De-Franco Brisbane, Australia

contact / help

Contact De-Franco

Streaming and
Download help

Track Name: Sunlight Song (feat. Rel O'Keefe)
Sunlight Song (Feat. Rel O’Keefe)

All I want is a future, to escape this loveless night
Wanna taste the freedom, I wanna feel the sunlight, wanna feel the sunlight

I’ve been thinking about you, as the day fades into night
I’ve been dreaming a new dream, underneath the sunlight, underneath the sunlight

It’s a pretty little picture that we just let burn
Now we’re tripping on the edge of no return
You’re saying what’s the point gotta let it go
It’s a question of fate but I just don’t know

There’s a million little pieces lying all around
When the sun came up then the walls came down
It was falling from the sky like a silver stream
And all that I remember it was 8:15, 8:15